Teams allow you to organize your users in groups and limit access to customers and projects.
A team consists of a Teamlead and an unlimited amount of team members. The teamlead has access to all contents and timesheets of the team. Every content object can be linked to an arbitrary amount of teams.
If you want to limit the access to Kimai functionality instead of content, please read the permissions documentation.
First we will have a look at the available user roles and how their permission work when using teams (this only applies when you use the default permission configuration):
System-Admin: can see and manage all content and use all administrative functions.
Administrator: can see and manage all content, but access to system specific settings and contents (like users) are limited.
Teamlead: can see all un-privileged contents and all contents assigned to his teams. Team specific contents can be managed for all teams where this user is the
User: can see all un-privileged contents and all contents assigned to his teams.
Next step is to understand the difference between the user role
Teamlead and the
teamlead of a user team:
Teamleadrole limits access to functions like
teamlead) is allowed to see team related contents like
Customers: Access can be limited by assigning one or more teams. Customers without any team assignment can be seen by every user. Projects for this customer will be limited as well, if a team is assigned.
Projects: Access can be limited by assigning at least one team. Projects without any team assignment can be seen by every user, which has access to the related customer.
Team creation is limited to the user roles